Posted by: Dolphinelle~Barbara Napoles | June 15, 2015

On the Road to Taiji

77 days and counting

77 days and counting!

June 15, 2015 –  77 days and counting!

Sitting here thinking about the next step I will be taking in this adventure called life as an advocate for dolphins. Visiting Japan and Hawaii has always been a dream of mine (even as a child) and most definitely its been on my bucket list of places to visit.

I will be visiting both as there is a scheduled lay-over in Hawaii.

Some friends and my sister visited Japan and have fallen in love with the people, the culture, Mt. Fuji and Toto Toilets!

Yes you read that right TOTO TOILETS!!  There are western toilets and Japanese Squat toilets.

2015-01-17-toilets-togehter

Did you know there is a certain bathroom etiquette for taking baths that is observed in Japanese homes?

“In Japan the main purpose of taking a bath, besides cleaning your body, is relaxation at the end of the day. The typical Japanese bathroom consists of two rooms, an entrance room where you undress and which is equipped with a sink, and the actual bathroom which is equipped with a shower and a deep bath tub. The toilet is almost always located in an entirely separate room.”

There are also bathroom slippers when using or prior to entering the bathroom suite. You must use these slippers while in the bathroom and then when you exit the bathroom you leave the slippers at the door.

toiletslippersNow you are all informed as I am about toilet etiquette in Japan!

This is one of my all time favorite Japanese songs interpreted by a wonderful cellist Yo Yo Ma, also Japanese. I love cherry blossom time “Sakura” and I cant wait to see the blossoms although I think that this may not be the time for them.

I can’t believe that in a few days, yes a few days, because time flies when you are having fun this great adventure is about to begin and I will be taking all of my great friends spirits with me in my heart that have made this possible for me.

Planning something.. Keep your eyes on the blog.

Now I’m here contemplating what clothes to take, shoes, etc. I have to constantly remind myself to breath because I can’t believe this is happening to me! But first I have to finish the Cove Monitor application.

https://dolphinproject.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Cove-Monitor-Program-App2014-15.pdf

Its going to be a very long wonderful exciting  trip.I believe that understanding the culture and the people of Japan is essential to making my trip.  Communication and education is the answer.

To all my friends and followers you will be with me every step of the way as we make this journey as a voice for dolphins.

Let’s get this adventure started already!

Follow me…”On the Road to Taiji”

For the Dolphins,

Leave a Reply

Categories

